More shopping… and a bit of wondering off

Not too bad of a day, if I do say so myself. I almost have something for everyone now after today’s trip. But I have to do this day in order, as I have all the others.

Breakfast this morning has become my favorite one while here. It was the crescent roll with chocolate in the middle, a bowl of applesauce and the glass of OJ that seems to be doing nothing against the cold that going around. Thankfully all I have to shop for it is a cough, but I’m pretty sure its asthma related.

In Dr. Chapman’s lectures today we first covered the foundation of the Salvation Army. The organization was started by William Booth and his wife Catherine. Both originally cam from decently well off families and deeply devout Christians. They started the first mission on the East end of London, the darkest of London in 1860. Their plan was a simple, Soup, Soap and Salvation. Feed those down and out, let them clean up and give them clothes in better condition, and finally teach them about the bible. I’ll add more of my notes later when i’m back in the states on this one.

Aimee had left five minutes into the first lecture and didn’t make it to the second. The rampaging sold has hit her pretty bad. So to help her out, I recorded Dr. Chapman’s lectures. i hope he won’t be too mad… it was for a good cause. The second lecture was about Britain’s relationship, or “love affair” with India. On this one too I’ll add my notes at a later time, just know for now that the relationship between the two countries has almost always been a content one.

Lunch today was slices of ham(?) with parsnips, potatoes and squash. For dessert there was a lemon cream pie thing that tasted really good. As I was eating it I couldn’t stop myself of thinking of a private joke about “Crusty Pudding.” After lunch Aimee and I walked to a chemist to get her something for her ear. The woman behind the counter gave her a decongestant and olive oil ear drops. We headed back to Wycliffe to administer the ear drops. We ended up staying in our room for an hour or so. After a while I decided that I wan’t going to waste my day because Aimee wasn’t feeling so good. As I was getting ready to go, Aimee roused herself and said that she’d go with, sick or not.

First we headed off to the Westgate Mall, where we had been a few days ago. Aimee stayed in Primark, but I got board of the shop and wondered off. I toddled off to a store called Verb, which is still in the mall area. Verb is a mix of Deb and Ragstock in terms of fashion. There I found a strapless shirt that can be uncinched into a dress that comes to mid thigh. Once that was in the bag, I went back to see if I could find Aimee. No luck. So, I went into Pound Land, their equivalent of a dollar store. There I bought a paper lantern and two bundles of blue bags.

Why the bags you ask?

I am going to cut them into strip to make plan and use it for my crafts. As I was leaving the mall a window display caught my eye and I had to pop inside. Here I bought the perfect thing for my dad. Sorry dad, not going to tell you what it is here. You’ll just have to wait until I get home, or talk real nice to mom, she knows what it is.

Before heading back to Wycliffe, I wanted to try my hand at finding the Alice in Wonderland shop again. I had tried yesterday,but couldn’t find it. well, today I did. As it turns out if i had toddled a little farther and hadn’t turned left yesterday, I would have found the shop. Here I bought a copy of Alice in Wonder Land which also had Through the Looking Glass in the same cover. i also bought a quote mug. Its the cat’s line about being mad.

Alice_speaks_to_Cheshire_Cat“We’re all mad here. I’m Mad. You’re mad.”

“How do you know I’m mad?” Said Alice

“You must be” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

With my purchases in hand I went back to Wycliffe to drop off my stuff. I had enough time before dinner, so I went out again to see if I could find the Oxford Yarn Shop. I found it, floor to ceiling full yarn. I was so over whelmed by the sheer amount, that I didn’t buy anything. I did however ask the lady behind the counter if she knew where I could get a drop spindle. She directed me to the website for the Oxford Guild of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers. I thanked her and went back home.

When I got there this time Aimee was back. She showed me the scores she made shopping. Dinner tonight was a steak and mushroom hotdish (pie). My plate got loaded with green beans ‘cuz I opted out of the broccoli and cauliflower. There was some of lunch’s dessert left over, so I helped myself to another of those.

I got to talk with my family twice today. The first time I had mom all to myself, and the second was with my brother. I like talking with them. In seven days I’ll see them in person. Not sure I’m ready to go back yet though… tomorrow is up in the air as to what I’ll do. Check again tomorrow to see what I found. Night all.

In case you missed the Links:

Alice and cat picture provided by:  http://www.wpclipart.com/fictional_characters/childrens_books/Alice_in_Wonderland/Alice_speaks_to_Cheshire_Cat.png.html

Salvation Army:                        http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/usn/history-of-the-salvation-army

William and Catherine Booth:                                     https://salvos.org.au/about-us/our-history/william-and-catherine-booth.php

Primark: https://www.primark.com/en/whats-new

Deb: http://www.debshops.com/

Ragstock: http://ragstock.com/

Poundland: http://www.poundland.co.uk/

Oxford Yarn Shop: http://www.oxfordyarnstore.co.uk/

Oxford guild of Weavers, Spinners and dyers:  http://www.oxfordwsd.org.uk/

Categories: EuroSpring 2014, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “More shopping… and a bit of wondering off

  1. Pingback: Weblog and wiki project review week 4 | Surviving Free time, My Way

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

